Students Awarded CPA Scholarships


The Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) has awarded scholarships to 10 students, 6 of whom are female and 4 – male, to enable them pursue the Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (CPA-U) qualification. Selected from a pool of 164 applicants, the beneficiaries are fresh university graduates drawn from both public and private universities. They had to have either a 1st Class or 2nd Upper degrees.

ICPAU is committed to nurturing talent among young people. The beneficiaries have distinguished themselves as talented individuals and this programme will empower them to nurture their talents. Ultimately they should be able to qualify as accountants within the next two years or so.

The CPA-U qualification builds on the initial professional development acquired at the university and other levels of education to impart professional knowledge, skills and values. These elements are important for serving in the public interest, as the accountancy profession emphasizes ethics and integrity.

During the launch of the scholarship programme on 12 December 2019, CPA Frederick Kibbedi the President of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) urged students to understand, appreciate and put to use the principle of ethics.

CPA Kibbedi said that ethics is the most important virtue in the accountancy profession. “With ethics, an accountant is able to do good in public interest”, he added. “It is the single most important virtue that public and stakeholders need to trust you,” he added.

On skills development, CPA Kibbedi urged the beneficiaries to always endeavour to equip themselves with skills beyond the classroom. “Employers need your skills. They seek your ability to do things differently through innovation. They do not need a static employee”, he said.

CPA Derick Nkajja, the Chief Executive Officer of ICPAU said that the programme will go a long way in attracting young and talented accounting students to undertake the CPA-U course. He noted that whereas the programme is a corporate social responsibility programme, it also serves as a demonstration of the Institute’s commitment to fulfilling the seven Statements of Membership Obligations (SMOs) that govern the accountancy profession, and in particular SMO 2 which talks about accountancy education and how one becomes a professional accountant.

CPA Andrew Kawere, the Deputy Director – Non-Bank Financial Institutions Department at Bank of Uganda, and a visionary Certified Public Accountant who successfully studied CPA-U alongside his degree, urged the beneficiaries to be steadfast on the accountancy journey they were about to embark on. “On this journey, you will encounter tough moments. Some of those moments will make you have second thoughts on whether to continue of drop out. Those moments, in whatever way you will deal with them, will define who you are, and the person you will be in future” he said. My advice to you is to always find a reason to lift yourself up and push on until the end.

He further cautioned them not to engage in any acts that put the name and image of the Institute into disrepute such as examination malpractice, as this would be detrimental to their future.

The scholarship will cover the cost of registration, study materials, exemptions/examinations fees and annual renewal fees. The beneficiaries will commence their studies in January 2020 and sit their first examinations in May 2020. The Institute’s expectation is that these beneficiaries will complete the CPA-U course within two and a half years.

Scholarship Beneficiaries

1.   Douglas Tukamuhebwa (BSc. A&F) – Ndejje University

2.   Geofrey Bogere (BBA-Acc) – Bugema University              

3.   Irene Namusaazi (BBA –Acc) –  Makerere University       

4.   Isaac Matsiko (BScA&F) – Mbarara University of Science & Technology

5.   Catherine Namuyomba (BBA) – Makerere University      

6.   Shalom Zaninka (BScA&F) – Uganda Christian University

7.  Lilian Bukirwa (BSc. Fin) – Mbarara University of Science & Technology

8.   Audrey Nshabire (BBComp) –  Makerere University     

9.   Beatrice Wanyirigira (B.MgtSc) – Kyambogo University  

10. Charles Nasasira (BBA-Acc) – Makerere University


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here